rs536-2000 . diaryland . com
More about the Half

< Last ] [ Next > ]

Thanks to everyone who�s been encouraging me along the way about the half-marathon (and click back if you didn�t read yesterday�s entry about the race). I am considering running another half-marathon in six weeks, but I hope to not obsess about it. I�m still feeling pretty good under the circumstances�my feet are fine and my quadriceps are only a little sore. I used arnica gel on my toes, pre-race and it seems to have worked very well.

The only drama I created during the race (aside from finishing) was around mile 10.5 in Prospect Park. The park has recreation lanes. Runners are always supposed to be in the �rec lanes.� Bikers are only supposed to be in the rec lanes during the 4 hours per weekday that traffic is allowed in the park. Bikers are never supposed to be in the rec lanes on weekends. In any case, around mile 10.5, d had just left the park and SS was still running with me in the rec lanes, which was my designated running area. All of a sudden a middle-aged guy on a 100-year-old (ok 20 year old) 100 lb. bike wove around me very close to my lovely feet. �You�ve gotta FUCKING be kidding me,� I snarled.

The guy looked back with a �who-is-that-crazy-woman-talking-to� look.

�Yeah, YOU, I�m talkin� ta YOU!�

He rode away pretty quickly. I was livid. I�m so easy to aggravate�but imagine if I couldn�t finish because some demented jackass ran over my lovely feet. That would have been SO SAD. But it didn�t happen that way. And I finished the RACE!

[ < Last ] [ Next > ]

Design
Registered
host
Notes